Behind-the-Scenes Tours

Go behind the scenes at The Field Museum!

Most Mondays through Fridays at 12:00pm or 2:00pm - see below for specific dates.

Buy Tickets

Choose from two tour routes: Museum Marvels or Science Secrets

The Field Museum is home to more than 25 million objects, from towering dinosaurs to tiny beetles and everything in between.  But did you know that only about 1% of these artifacts and specimens are on display to the public? Now you can explore the rest! You’re invited to embark on an expedition like no other when you go behind the scenes on a tour of our collections at The Field Museum. With an endless realm of things to explore, who knows what you might see?!  You could have a chance to see how fossils are excavated from million-year-old rocks in our Fossil Prep Lab. Or perhaps get a peek at our Collaborative Insect Laboratory and learn why gold is such an important resource to our scientists. Maybe you’ll marvel at the oldest book in the Library’s Rare Book Room and discover what makes the heaviest book in our collection so much different than modern day paperbacks. You might even get a look inside The Field’s herbarium, which houses over 2.7 million plant specimens from around the world! You could also see a pickled komodo dragon, towering tiger shark jaws, and even live tarantulas and scorpions. Led by one of our Field Guides, each tour will change to incorporate new research projects and discoveries as they happen, so every experience is unique.

This is your chance to get a peek at some of the extraordinary research that happens behind the scenes at The Field Museum on a daily basis.

Field Museum Members: Please call Member Services at (312) 665-7705 to reserve your tickets. 

Tours are limited to 10 people per tour, and are designed for adults and children 12 and older.

Upcoming Tour Dates & Times

Thursday, September 18, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Friday, September 19, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Monday, September 22, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Tuesday, September 23, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Wednesday, September 24, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Thursday, September 25: NO TOURS
Friday, September 26: NO TOURS
Monday, September 29, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Tuesday, September 30, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Wednesday, October 1, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Wednesday, October 1, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Thursday, October 2, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Thursday, October 2,2:00pm: Science Secrets
Friday, October 3, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Friday, October 3, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Monday, October 6, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Monday, October 6, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Tuesday, October 7, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Tuesday, October 7, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Wednesday, October 8, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Wednesday, October 8, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Thursday, October 9, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Thursday, October 9, 2:00pm: Science Secrets
Friday, October 10, 12:00pm: Museum Marvels
Friday, October 10, 2:00pm: Science Secrets

 

Policies for Behind-the-Scenes Tours