The Field Ambassador program is a professional learning community through which Chicago-area educators receive on-going professional development on the Museum’s resources—our exhibitions, collections, educational programs, Harris Learning Collection materials—and best practices in using museums to support student learning. In return, Field Ambassadors serve as liaisons between the Museum and their school community by sharing our resources with colleagues and keeping us abreast of the changing needs of the educator audience. Field Ambassadors participate in 30 hours of training on content relevant to the Field Museum's areas of study as well as best practices in object-based learning and our Focused Field Trip Framework. After completing the initial training, Field Ambassadors become members of the Academy. Academy members are invited to continue participating in professional development days, join the Museum for special learning opportunities and events, and develop school-wide initiatives designed to integrate Museum resources on a larger scale. Through the Field Ambassador program, educators:

  • Dedicate themselves to lifelong learning in a professional learning community
  • Improve their ability to teach and learn through collections
  • Grow as leaders in their school communities, the Field Ambassador community, and at the Museum

Learn more about the Field Ambassador Requirements of Participation.


2020–2021 Meetings

The Field Ambassador program meets throughout the 2020–2021 school year. Meetings begin at 9am and end at 3pm for new members. The Year End Celebration takes place from 4pm to 8pm.All dates are subject to change.

  • Saturday, September 19, 2020 (New Cohort Only)
  • Saturday, October 3, 2020 (Expedition I)
  • Saturday, December 5, 2020 (Expedition II)
  • Saturday, January 30, 2021 (Expedition III)
  • Saturday, March 6, 2021 (Expedition IV)
  • Thursday, May 6, 2021 ( Year End Celebration)

Questions? Email

Due to a generous grant, this program is free for all educators accepted into the program.